Duke of Edinburgh




The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award is an achievement award recognised all over the world. There are three levels of the award that you can do; Bronze, Silver and Gold.

  • Bronze – for those aged 14+ years
  • Silver – for those aged 15+ years
  • Gold – for those aged 16+ years

The main differences between them are the length of time they take to complete, the minimum age you can start and how challenging they are. At Moor Park we currently offer the Bronze and Silver awards.

To achieve your award you will complete a personal programme of activities in four different  areas.  These are volunteering, physical, skills and expedition.

If you are in Year 9 but are only 13 years old, you may be able to start a Bronze DofE programme if most of your friends are already 14 – check with Mrs Vickery.

Activities for each DofE section take a minimum of one hour a week over a set period of time, so they can be fitted in around academic study, hobbies and social lives. Development and regular progress must be shown and all activities must be completed by the participant’s 25th birthday.

Bronze timescales:

  • Volunteering section: 3 months
  • Physical section: 3 months
  • Skills section: 3 months
  • Expedition section: 2 days/1 night
  • You also have to do 3 more months in one of the Volunteering, Physical or Skills sections.

Silver timescales:

  • Volunteering section: 6 months
  • Physical and Skills sections: One section for 6 months and the other section for 3 months
  • Expedition section: 3 days/2 nights
  • If you didn’t do Bronze, you must undertake a further 6 months in either the Volunteering or the longer of the Physical or Skills sections.

For more information you can speak to our DofE leader Mrs Vickery or visit the DofE website

Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming events at this time.